What it’s like to be Bisexual.

Picture by Ryan McGuire

Adam is bisexual. I interviewed him to find out about his everyday life and experiences.

Hi Adam, how are you?

I’m good thanks.

So, Adam, when did you realise you were bisexual?

About 18 months ago, when one of my male friends was hitting on me. We got into a relationship. Another mutual friend (a female) said she had feelings for me and we somehow ended up in a polyamorous relationship for a few months.

How did you get into the poly relationship?

We were all hanging out and I was dating my male friend. She kept hitting on me playfully and she said something about what she’d do if we were alone and my boyfriend said he wouldn’t mind seeing that. I had already told him that I had feelings for both but I would still remain with him if it came to that. We just ended up in a poly relationship after that.

What was the best part of the relationship?

I think just the closeness. I tend not to trust people with my heart so easily so when I do, it just brightens my day to be around the people I care about. We all lived near each other and went to the same school so we saw each other a lot.

What was the worst part about the relationship?

Probably the balance of it. I couldn’t show either person too much attention without neglecting the other.

Did other people treat you differently because you were in a poly relationship?

Not many people knew about it so not really.

How did your relationship end?

He moved and she joined the military so it just fell apart.

Have you been in a relationship since?

Yeah one, with a girl.

Best part about being bi?

Having options!

Worst part?

Some people don’t want to be with someone who has been with both genders. I can also be discriminated against because people don’t understand that I like both genders.

What did you identify as before bisexual?

Heterosexual.

Have you come out?

Mostly yeah. I live in a rather progressive are and I have a lot of easy going friends so they didn’t really mind. My parents still don’t really know. The clues are there, I just haven’t explicitly told them.

Any advice for people who are bi?

Just be yourself. Don’t let what others think control your sexuality and how you act.

Thanks Adam.

Leave a Reply

